Some Of My Favorite Images From This Year’s Hikes, So Far!

This first shot is of Thompson River.  A couple of hiking buddies and I went backpacking along the Foothills Trail in NC/SC in early May.  On the first day we decided to stop and eat our lunch on a large boulder along the bank of the river.

IMAG0412

In late May, I did a 15.5 mile overnighter with two friends on the A.T. from Stecoah Gap to Fontana Dam.  This next image is a shot of Fontana Lake.

IMAG0424

In June, we took the youth from our church to Dupont State Forest in NC.  The first image is a picture of Triple Falls.  The second image is a shot of High Falls.

In July, I did an eleven mile loop hike at Table Rock State Park in SC with a buddy from the Oconee County Hiking Club.  We hiked to the top of Pinnacle Mountain and to the top of Table Rock Mountain.  This picture was taken from a large rock outcropping called Governor’s Rock.

IMAG0583

Later in July, I did a ten mile out and back hike to the top of Yellow Mountain in NC.  I had the mountaintop to myself for a little while.  It was quiet and serene.

IMAG0608

In early August, I took my wife and three kids on a short day hike to the top of Whiteside Mountain in NC.  These next two shots were taken along the trail.

In early September, I went with some friends to Damascus VA.  We rode bikes along the seventeen mile Virginia Creeper Trail and did about a ten mile day hike on the A.T. from Grayson Highlands State Park to Elk Gardens, which included a summit of Mt. Rogers.  These next four shots are from that trip.

At the end of September, I hiked alone on the Hidden Falls Trail and the Tamassee Knob Trail.  These trails are accessed from Oconee County State Park in SC.  I hiked a total of about 9.4 miles.  This is a picture of the view from the top of Tamassee Knob.

IMAG0852

My most recent hike was at the beginning of this month.  I hiked with some friends along the Foothills Trail.  We hiked a total of 6.3 miles.  We started our hike at Sloan Briddge in SC and finished at Upper Whitewater Falls in NC.  The first picture is of Lake Jocassee as seen from the trail.  The second picture is of the falls and was taken from the observation platform.

I’ve got ambitions to do a lot more hiking and backpacking before the end of the year, especially now that the weather is turning cooler.  Lord willing, I’ll be able to actually do it and post more pictures.

One thought on “Some Of My Favorite Images From This Year’s Hikes, So Far!

Leave a Reply

