Change Of Pace – Kayaking On Lake Hartwell

The weather forecast for this past Saturday called for a 100% chance of rain.  It did indeed rain during the night and early morning, but at around 9 am the rain stopped.  The sky remained overcast the rest of the day and there was a light fog lingering on the lake.

Lake Hartwell is a man-made reservoir with a surface area of 56,000 acres and has 962 miles of shoreline bordering Georgia and South Carolina.

At around 2 pm, I dragged my kayak down to the shore and decided to paddle out and explore this peninsula of land that is across the lake from our house.

IMAG2733

This is an extended view of the peninsula.  I paddled along most of the shoreline here.  One of the coves that I explored was narrow and long.  I felt a sense mystery and enchantment as I floated quietly while I listened to the sounds of nature.

IMAG2734

This pretty cluster of flowers was growing out over the water as was the tree in the next image.

IMAG2721

IMAG2722

I saw a number of these diamond shaped State Park boundary signs nailed to trees along the shoreline. This one is quite faded and is being engulfed by this particular tree.

IMAG2724

Across the lake from where I was, there is a public beach with two designated swimming areas, a pavilion, picnic tables, and lake access for boaters.

IMAG2727

After a while, I got pretty hungry so I decided to make a bee-line for home.  I probably should have planned ahead and taken a lunch with me. On my way back, I took some photos of other parts of the lake.

IMAG2725

IMAG2731

In all, I was on the lake for about an hour and forty minutes.  I really enjoyed myself and feel blessed and privileged to have had the opportunity.

One thought on “Change Of Pace – Kayaking On Lake Hartwell

Leave a Reply

